12 City “Business Shutdown” Days Announced

Mayor Ron Dellums this week announced the remaining twelve “business shutdown” dates that were included in the annual budget adopted by the City Council. A schedule of dates include a weeklong closure during the winter holidays and one or two days per month through June 2009. “Our nation is facing one of the most severe economic crises in our history, and local governments throughout the country are struggling to remain financially solvent,” Dellums said. “Many have chosen to stay open fewer days to reduce costs, opting to close business as often as once-a-week, in addition to laying off employees. These are hard, painful choices that require a delicate balance between the need to protect jobs and maintain vital services against the reality that we must cut spending to live within our means.” A total of 13 closure days were approved in the revised city budget. In an attempt to minimize impact on employees and residents, the closures will take place around  holidays or official days off. The first date was the day before Thanksgiving. The remaining 13 days are:  Winter holidays: Dec. 26 (Friday), Dec. 29 (Monday), Dec. 30 (Tuesday), Dec. 31 (Wednesday) and Jan. 2 (Friday). In addition, Dec. 25 (Thursday) and Jan. 1 (Thursday) are official city holidays. Most city facilities on these dates are closed, and most services are discontinued. February 2009: Feb. 13 (Friday).  In addition, Feb. 12 (Thursday) is an official city holiday, with most facilities closed and most services discontinued. March 2009: March 13 (Friday). April 2009: April 9 (Thursday) and April 10 (Friday). May 2009: May 22 (Friday). In addition, May 25 (Monday) is an official city holiday, with most facilities closed and most services discontinued. June 2009: June 5 (Friday) and June 19 (Friday).
Share Button
Print Friendly

Filed under: Articles

Comments are closed.