Nominations Sought for Judge Carroll Community Service Awards

By Kia Croom

Judge George Carroll

The Black American Political Action Committee (BAPAC) is accepting nominations for its 5th annual  Judge George Carroll Community Service Award Program scheduled to take place May 3.
Five individuals will be selected to receive the award.  The deadline is March 2.
In 2008, BAPAC established the award and sponsored the inaugural ceremony in honor of Judge Carroll’s integrity, commitment to public service and public welfare.
Past award recipient include: Reverend James Harris (2008); Officer Larry Lewis; (2008); Ruby Rollins (2008); Dr. Janet Scott (2008); Naomi Williams (2008); Myrtle Braxton (2009); Rhonda Harris (2009); John Marquez (2009); Ted Smith (2009); McKinley Williams (2009); Officer Michael Booker (2010); Laura Johnson (2010); George Livingston (2010); Eddie Menose (2010); Rever Sloan (2010); Amanda Elliott (2011); Taalia Hasan (2011); Jerold Hatchett (2011); Fred Jackson (2011); and Pastor Henry C. Washington (2011).
Judge Carroll was elected to the Richmond City Council in 1961. In 1964, he became the Mayor of  Richmond, and is noted as the First African-American male to hold such an office in a major U.S. city.  
In 1965, Governor Edmund Brown, Sr., appointed Carroll to serve as judge of Richmond Municipal Court. Carroll was the first African-American male to hold that office.
To nominate a candidate for the Judge George Carroll Community Service Award, request a nomination form from BAPAC at: .
Kia Croom is a contributing writer for the Richmond Post.

Share Button
Print Friendly

Filed under: Articles

Comments are closed.