Peralta Students Win Scholarships

Faculty, administrators and student scholarship winners at the Thursday evening reception were (Back Row, L to R): Dr. Lawrence VanHook; Maurice Jones; Anne Childress; Dr. Angela Cherry, Dr. Wise Allen, Chancellor; Takudzwa Machirori, Laney; Ronald Moss, districtwide; Charles Colston, districtwide; Travon Murphy, College of Alameda; Dr. George Herring, Merritt President; Herb Kitchen. (Front Row, L to R): Shirley Coaston, Erin Youngblood-Smith, Merritt; Deborah Smith-Evans, Berkeley City; Caleesa Foster, Merritt; Monetta Gilbert, College of Alameda; Taheerah Mujahid, Berkeley City. Photo by Stephen Brooks, Jr.

The Peralta Association of African American Affairs this week presented $500 scholarships to 10 students who attend Berkeley City College, College of Alameda, Laney College and Merritt College Awards were given  at a Thursday evening reception to students attending the Peralta Community College District who have demonstrated academic achievements, leadership skills, and community service in the African American community. “We are pleased to recognize academic excellence, and the scholarship reception is one way to honor our students for their hard work,” said Peralta Chancellor Wise Allen. The association has distributed over $50,000 in scholarships since 1998 to Peralta students.  
Share Button
Print Friendly

Filed under: Articles

Comments are closed.