Vallejo Swears In New City Council Members


Newly Elected Councilmembers Pippin Dew, Katy Miessner and Rozzana Verder-Aliga were sworn in along with returning Councilman Jess Malgapo to Vallejo City Council this week.

Departing councilmembers Marti Brown, Herminio Sunga and Stephanie Gomes received applause as Mayor Osby Davis thanked them for their efforts during the three-year Chapter 9 municipal bankruptcy filing.

Gomes and Sunga had completed maximum two consecutive four-year terms. Brown had served one four-year term but opted not to seek reelection.

Before being elected to City Council, Dew worked as a realtor and chairwoman of the Vallejo City Council Chamber of Commerce. Miessner worked in grants management for the U.S. Forest Service and was a director of Solano County Fair Association.

Verder-Aliga had served on the board of the Vallejo City Unified School District and is the first Filipino-American woman to serve on the Vallejo City Council.

Bob Sampayan was voted unanimously to serve as vice mayor by his fellow council members.

The councilmembers told the public they were excited and ready to start working hard to face upcoming challenges, including city revenue and improving public safety.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here