Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Awards Nine Outstanding Community Leaders

From right to left: Chaka Lockhart (Basileus – Beta Theta Sigma), Guadalupe Allen, Lt. Yulanda Williams, Bishop Jerry Macklin, Elisha Mitchell, Anthony Rodgers, Tamia Robinson, Shomari Carter, Lonnie Scoggins, Candice Antique, John Jones III, Shonda Scott, Kino Carson, Anakarita Snellings, Barbara Hardy, Mary Harvey.
Nine outstanding community members were honored at the Founders Golden Impact Awards ceremony hosted by Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority to commemorate the 70th Anniversary of Beta Theta Sigma chapter at the Jack London Aquatic Center. Based on the historic contribution of the organization’s founding members, each recipient was acknowledged for excellence in their field of endeavor.
The 2017 honorees are: Cubena McClure Arts & Culture Award – Candice Antique; Nannie Johnson Service Award – Shomari Carter; Vivian Marbury Education Award – Kino Carson;  Dorothy Whiteside Business Award – Shonda Scott; Bessie Martin Youth Award – Lt. Yulanda Williams; Hattie Redford Social Justice Award – John Jones; Mary Little Leadership Award – Bishop Jerry Macklin; Rhoer Butterfly Award – Sister Alice Muhammad and the Philo Service Award – Anthony Rodgers.
Beta Theta Sigma Chapter also recognized members of Sigma Gamma Rho and her affiliate groups for providing extraordinary service to the sorority and to the community: Brigitte Cook Living Legend Graduate Award – Anakarita Snelling; Lillie Wilkes Undergraduate Award – Elisha Mitchell; Rhoer of the Year – Tamia Robinson and the Philo of the Year – Guadalupe Allen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here